Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

Longacre Theatre Boeing-Boeing, 2008 Address 220 West 48th Street City New York City Country USA Designation Broadway theatre Owned by The Shubert Organization Capacity 1096 Opened 1912 Years active 1912-present Production La Cage aux Folles The Longacre Theatre is a Broadway theatre located at 220 West 48th Street in midtown Manhattan. Contents 1 Theatre History 2 Notable productions 3 See also 4 References 5 External links // Theatre History Designed by architect Henry Beaumont Herts in 1912, it was named for Longacre Square, the original name for Times Square. The French neo-classical building was constructed by impresario Harry Frazee, better remembered as the owner of the Boston Red Sox who, needing money for his theatrical ventures, sold Babe Ruth's contract to the New York Yankees. A curse allegedly lingers on the theater as a result, and superstitious producers avoid it for fear they'll be backing a flop, as noted by William Goldman in his seminal book The Season: A Candid Look at Broadway. Despite the rumor, a large number of performers who have appeared on stage here have taken home a Tony Award for their efforts. The Longacre's first show was a production of the William Hurlbut-Frances Whitehouse comedy Are You a Crook?, which opened on May 1, 1913. With the exception of its use as a radio and television studio in the mid-1940s to early 1950s, the theatre has operated as a legitimate Broadway venue. Notable productions 1917: The P.G. Wodehouse-Jerome Kern-Guy Bolton musical Leave It to Jane stars Edith Hallor, Robert Pitkin and Oscar Shaw 1927: The Command to Love opened in September with Basil Rathbone as the Marquis de Saint-Lac 1935: Clifford Odets' Waiting for Lefty stars the playwright, Lee J. Cobb, and Elia Kazan 1955: Julie Harris plays Joan of Arc in Jean Anouilh's The Lark, for which she wins her second Best Actress Tony Award. Also in the cast are Christopher Plummer, Boris Karlof, and Theodore Bikel. 1961: Zero Mostel wins a Tony for changing into a beast before the audience's eyes in Ionesco's The Rhinoceros. Supporting him are Eli Wallach, Anne Jackson, Morris Carnovsky, and Jean Stapleton. 1966: Hal Holbrook's performance in his landmark one-man show, Mark Twain Tonight, earns him a Tony. 1975: The cast of Terrence McNally's riotous The Ritz includes Jack Weston, Jerry Stiller, F. Murray Abraham, George Dzundza, and Rita Moreno, who wins a Tony. The comedy runs for 398 performances. 1976: Julie Harris earns her fifth Tony for her portrayal of Emily Dickinson in William Luce's The Belle of Amherst. 1977: David Rabe's The Basic Training of Pavlo Hummel wins Al Pacino a Tony. 1978: Ain't Misbehavin' runs for 1604 performances and wins Tony Awards for Best Musical, Richard Maltby, Jr.'s direction, and Nell Carter as featured musical actress. 1980: John Rubinstein and Phyllis Frelich score Best Actor and Actress Tonys for their performances in Mark Medoff's Children of a Lesser God. 1985: A revival of Peter Nichols' A Day in the Death of Joe Egg, with Jim Dale and Stockard Channing, earns her a Best Actress Tony. 1993: Singer Tony Bennett takes to the stage for a series of concerts. 1994: A revival of Medea wins Diana Rigg a Tony. 1997: Horton Foote's The Young Man From Atlanta wins the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. 2001: Two revivals at opposite ends of the theatrical spectrum - the highly dramatic Judgment at Nuremberg and Herb Gardner's comedy A Thousand Clowns - each enjoy a limited run. 2002: Russell Simmons Def Poetry Jam features works by African-American writers. 2005: Bill Irwin and Kathleen Turner tackle the roles of George and Martha in a revival of Edward Albee's Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?. Irwin takes home a Tony. 2007: A revival of Eric Bogosian's Talk Radio, starring Liev Schreiber. 2008: A revival of Boeing Boeing starring Christine Baranski, Mark Rylance, and Bradley Whitford. 2009: Dance show Burn the Floor, playing a limited 12-week engagement, which has since been extended to February 24, 2010. 2010: La Cage aux Folles was revived with a transfer of the Menier Chocolate Factory production starring Douglas Hodge as Albin and Kelsey Grammer as Georges. It opened on April 18, 2010 and was later nominated for 11 Tony Awards, winning 3 for Best Musical Revival, Best Actor in a Musical (Douglas Hodge), and Best Direction of a Musical (Terry Johnson) See also Broadway theatre 2009 in theatre References Parker, John, ed (1947). Who's Who in the Theatre (10th ed.). London. p. 1184.  External links Broadway Theatre Guide Seating chart Longacre Theatre at the Internet Broadway Database v • d • e Broadway theatres   Active, by owner Shubert (17) Ambassador Theatre · Belasco Theatre · Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre · Booth Theatre · Broadhurst Theatre · Broadway Theatre · Cort Theatre · Ethel Barrymore Theatre · Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre · Imperial Theatre · John Golden Theatre · Longacre Theatre · Lyceum Theatre · Majestic Theatre · Music Box Theatre · Shubert Theatre · Winter Garden Theatre Nederlander (9) Brooks Atkinson Theatre · Gershwin Theatre · Lunt-Fontanne Theatre · Marquis Theatre · Minskoff Theatre · Nederlander Theatre · Neil Simon Theatre · Palace Theatre · Richard Rodgers Theatre Jujamcyn (5) Al Hirschfeld Theatre · August Wilson Theatre · Eugene O'Neill Theatre · St. James Theatre · Walter Kerr Theatre Roundabout (3) American Airlines Theatre · Stephen Sondheim Theatre · Studio 54 Other (6) Circle in the Square Theatre (independent) · Foxwoods Theatre (Live Nation) · Helen Hayes Theatre (independent) · New Amsterdam Theatre (Disney) · Samuel J. Friedman Theatre (MTC) · Vivian Beaumont Theatre (Lincoln Center) Extant former Broadway theatres City Center · Ed Sullivan Theater · Hudson Theatre · Latin Quarter · Mark Hellinger Theatre · New Victory Theatre · Times Square Theatre (New 42nd Street)   Defunct and/or demolished 39th Street Theatre · 44th Street Theatre · 48th Street Theatre · 49th Street Theatre · 52nd Street Theatre · Adelphi Theatre · American Theatre · Astor Theatre · Bandbox Theatre · Belmont Theatre · Berkeley Lyceum Theatre · Bijou Theatre · Booth's Theatre · Broadway Theatre (41st St.) · Casino Theatre · Center Theatre · Central Theatre · Century Theatre (46th St.) · Century Theatre (62nd St.) · Circle Theatre · Cosmopolitan Theatre · Criterion Theatre · Daly's Theatre (30th St.) · Daly's 63rd Street Theatre · Earl Carroll Theatre · Edison Theatre · Eltinge Theatre · Empire Theatre · Fifth Avenue Theatre · Fulton Theatre · Gaiety Theatre · Garrick Theatre · George M. Cohan's Theatre · Hampden's Theatre / Harkness Theatre · Herald Square Theatre · Hippodrome Theatre · Jardin de Paris · Klaw Theatre / Avon Theatre · Knickerbocker Theatre · Liberty Theatre · Lincoln Square Theatre · Manhattan Theatre (33rd St.) · Maxine Elliott's Theatre · Mayfair Theatre (44th St.) · Mayfair Theatre (46th St.) · Mercury Theatre · Morosco Theatre · New Century Theatre · New York Theatre (44th St.) · Nora Bayes Theatre · Olympia Theatre · Playhouse Theatre · Playhouse Theatre (6th Ave.) · President Theatre · Princess Theatre · Proctor's Theatre · Punch and Judy Theatre / Charles Hopkins Theatre · Rialto Theatre · Sam H. Harris Theatre · Savoy Theatre · Star Theatre · Vanderbilt Theatre · Victoria Theatre · Waldorf Theatre · Wallack's Theatre / Harris Theatre · Wallack's Theatre / Palmer's Theatre · Wallack's Lyceum Theatre · Waverley Theatre · Winter Garden Theatre (Jenny Lind Hall) · Ziegfeld Theatre