Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

Staythorpe Power Station Country England Locale Nottinghamshire, East Midlands Coordinates 53°04′29″N 0°51′21″W / 53.07482°N 0.85573°W / 53.07482; -0.85573Coordinates: 53°04′29″N 0°51′21″W / 53.07482°N 0.85573°W / 53.07482; -0.85573 Commission date 2010 Operator(s) RWE npower (2010-) Power station information Primary fuel Natural gas-fired grid reference SK767536 Staythorpe C Power Station is a 1700MWe gas-fired power station between Southwell and Newark-on-Trent in Nottinghamshire, between the River Trent and Nottingham to Lincoln Line. It will be open in 2010. Contents 1 History 1.1 Former power plants 1.2 Planning process 2 Resourcing of construction labour 3 Specification 4 See also 5 References 6 External links 6.1 News items // History The £680m plant near Averham is currently under construction and is owned by the German company, RWE npower plc. It will be the second largest CCGT (Combined Cycle Gas Turbine) power station in the UK when opened and will achieve an overall efficiency in excess of 58%. Former power plants It is being built on the site of two former CEGB coal-fired power station, the 360MW Staythorpe A (built July 1950) and B (built May 1962).[1] Staythorpe A was closed on 31 October 1983 and had a generating capacity of 112 MW.[2] Staythorpe B closed in 1994 with a generating capacity of 354 MW.[3] There is still a large substation next to the site of the former power stations, and a monument. Planning process Planning permission was given for the gas-fired power station as early as 1993, and construction originally began in 1998 by the previous owner National Power PLC, temporarily ceasing in 2000 due to market saturation and low returns on electricity generation (high gas costs versus low electricity prices). Construction restarted in early 2008, after RWE decided to proceed with Staythorpe in May 2007 in preference to development at an alternate site in Pembrokeshire Pembroke[4] The Pembrokeshire site was given the go ahead to proceed alongside Staythorpe in February 2009 once environmental conditions where assured to be met. The project at Staythorpe will be constructed under an Engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) contract by Alstom Power. Alstom Power Ltd, the construction contractors, applied to Newark and Sherwood District Council in October 2008 for planning permission to develop an additional storage depot immediately adjacent to the village of Staythorpe.[5] Many villagers have expressed concern about this and a campaign to oppose it has been set up. It is situated around one mile from Newark, between the villages of Averham, to the north, and Farndon, to the south with the address Staythorpe Road, Staythorpe, NG23 5PS. The north-east section of the power station is in the Averham parish, with the rest in Staythorpe. The electricity 400kV ZA transmission line from Staythorpe to Grendon, Northamptonshire is being upgraded to prepare for the new power station. Resourcing of construction labour The GMB trade union was displeased when Alstom recruited non-UK contract labour to build the power station. Specification It is a CCGT-type power station that runs primarily on natural gas, but has the option to switch to (distillate) fuel oil. It will generate enough electricity for two million homes. It will consist of four KA26-1 modules, generating around 400MWe each, each with an Alstom 288MWe GT26B gas turbine, triple-pressure heat recovery steam generator and steam turbine.[6] Electricity will be generated using Alstom TOPGAS hydrogen-cooled generators.[7] The plant will have a thermal efficiency of around 58%. See also npower (UK) References ^ ^ Mr. Redmond (16 January 1984). "Coal-fired Power Stations". Hansard. Retrieved 1 September 2009.  ^ "Generation disconnections since 1991". 2003. Retrieved 5 October 2009.  ^ . ^ ^ ^ External links RWE npower Specification of the power plant (PDF) KA26 CCGT power plant Former power station Power in Trust monument News items Possible legal action from the GMB in November 2009 Strike action ballot in August 2009 Strikes in June 2009 Protest march in February 2009 Protests in January 2009 Protestors in October 2008 Announcement of construction in May 2007   Power stations of the the Trent Valley Upstream: Wilford Power Station Staythorpe Power Station Downstream: High Marnham Power Station v • d • e Electricity generation in the East Midlands Power stations Biomass Active Cottam Coal Active Cottam · Ratcliffe-on-Soar · West Burton Closed Castle Donnington · Derby · Drakelow · Freeman's Meadow · High Marnham · Nottingham · Northampton · Spondon · Staythorpe · Wilford · Willington Gas Active Corby · Cottam · Derwent · Spalding · Sutton Bridge Proposed/Future Drakelow · Staythorpe · West Burton Hydro Active Torrs Incinerators/Waste Active Nottingham Wind Active Burton Wold · Conisholme · Deeping St. Nicholas · Lindhurst · Lynn and Inner Dowsing Proposed/Future Lincs · Race Bank · Triton Knoll Organisations East Midlands Electricity · Pre-nationalisation electric power companies