Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

An ovo-lacto vegetarian (or lacto-ovo vegetarian) is a vegetarian who does not eat animal flesh of any kind, but is willing to consume dairy and egg products. In contrast, a vegetarian who consumes no animal products at all is called a vegan. Veganism excludes animal products that do not require the death of the animal, such as wool, whereas most vegetarians simply do not wear clothes made of leather, fur, or any type of animal product which necessitates the killing of the animal.[citation needed] Contents 1 Etymology 2 Diet 3 Religion 4 References 5 See also Etymology The terminology stems from the Latin lacte meaning "milk", ova meaning "egg", and the English term vegetarian (see Etymology of vegetarianism for the etymology of "vegetarian"), so as giving the definition of a vegetarian diet containing milk and eggs. Diet In the Western world lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a lacto-ovo vegetarian is assumed. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are often well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in some parts of Europe and metropolitan cities in North America. In the airline industry, a lacto-ovo vegetarian meal is known by the acronym VLML (for Vegetarian, Lacto-ovo MeaL). Lacto-ovo vegetarianism is often motivated by ethics, since eggs and dairy products do not directly require the slaughter of animals. However, since eggs and milk are only produced by female chickens and cows, commercial food producers will often engage in the practice of sexing, whereby males are either slaughtered immediately (typical for chickens) or raised for meat (more common for cattle). Furthermore, both dairy cattle and egg-laying hens are slaughtered when they leave the period of peak productivity, which is typically much shorter than their natural lifespan.[1][2] Religion Many Seventh-day Adventists or Yi Guan Dao followers are lacto-ovo vegetarians. For over 130 years, Seventh-day Adventists have recommended a vegetarian diet which may include milk products and eggs.[3] Many Hindus are also raised either as lacto vegetarians or ovo-lacto vegetarians. Not all ovo-lacto vegetarians choose this diet for religious reasons, but may instead adopt it for animal rights, environmental, or health reasons. References ^ Dairy Industry Report ^ Compassion in World Farming - Egg laying hens ^ A Position Statement on The Vegetarian Diet Adapted from the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists Nutrition Council See also Lacto vegetarianism Ovo vegetarian Sentient foods Vegetarianism Veganism v · d · eVegetarianism Perspectives Veganism Fruitarianism · List of vegans  · Raw veganism  · Vegan nutrition  · Vegan organic gardening Vegetarianism Economic vegetarianism  · Environmental vegetarianism  · History of vegetarianism  · Lacto vegetarianism · List of vegetarians · Ovo vegetarianism · Ovo-lacto vegetarianism · Sattvic diet Vegetarian cuisine · Vegetarianism by country  · Vegetarian nutrition · Semi-vegetarianism Flexitarianism · Macrobiotic diet · Pescetarianism Ethics Animal rights  · Ethics of eating meat Vegetarianism and religion: Buddhism · Christianity · Hinduism · Jainism · Judaism · Sikhism Food and drink Agar · Agave nectar · Cheese analogue · Meat analogue · Milk substitute · Mochi · Plant cream · Plant milk · Soy yogurt · Tempeh · Tofu · Tofurkey · Tofurky · Tortilla · Vegetarianism and wine · Veggie burger · Veggie sausage · Organizations and events American Vegetarian Party · Boston Vegetarian Society · Christian Vegetarian Association · European Vegetarian Union · Farm Sanctuary · Hare Krishna Food for Life · International Vegetarian Union · Massachusetts Animal Rights Coalition · People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) · Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine · Toronto Vegetarian Association · Vegan Society · Vegetarian Society · Vegetarian Victoria · Veggies of Nottingham · World Vegan Day · World Vegetarian Day This food-related article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.v · d · e