Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

John Franklin Shafroth United States Senator from Colorado In office March 4, 1913 – March 3, 1919 Preceded by Simon Guggenheim Succeeded by Lawrence C. Phipps 18th Governor of Colorado In office January 12, 1909 – January 14, 1913 Preceded by Henry A. Buchtel Succeeded by Elias M. Ammons Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Colorado's 1st district In office March 4, 1895 – February 15, 1904 Preceded by Lafe Pence Succeeded by Robert W. Bonynge Born June 9, 1854(1854-06-09) Fayette, Missouri Died February 20, 1922(1922-02-20) (aged 67) Denver, Colorado Political party Republican (1895-1897) Silver Republican (1897-1903) Democratic (1903-1922) Alma mater University of Michigan Profession Law John Franklin Shafroth (June 9, 1854 – February 20, 1922) was a United States Representative and Senator from Colorado. Born in Fayette, Missouri, he attended the common schools and graduated from the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor in 1875. He studied law, and was admitted to the bar in 1876 and commenced practice in Fayette. He moved to Denver, Colorado in 1879 and continued the practice of law. He was city attorney from 1887 to 1891 and was elected as a Republican to the Fifty-fourth Congress as a Representative. He then joined other Colorado officials such as Senator Henry M. Teller, splitting from the Republicans to join the Silver Republican third party, on whose ticket he was reelected to the Fifty-fifth, Fifty-sixth, and Fifty-seventh Congresses;[1] he presented credentials as a Democratic Member-elect to the Fifty-eighth Congress and served from March 4, 1895, until his resignation on February 15, 1904, when he declared his conviction that his opponent, Robert W. Bonynge, had been duly elected – after which he was often referred to (sometimes admiringly, sometimes sarcastically) as "Honest John."[2] Shafroth was Governor of Colorado from 1908 to 1912, and was instrumental in bringing in Colorado's ballot initiative institutions. In 1912, he was elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Senate, where he served one term from March 4, 1913, to March 3, 1919; he was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1918. While a Senator, Shafroth was chairman of the Committee on Pacific Islands and Puerto Rico (Sixty-third through Sixty-fifth Congresses), the leading Senate sponsor of the Jones-Shafroth Act of 1917, and a member of the Committee on the Philippines (Sixty-fifth Congress). After leaving the Senate, he served as chairman of the War Minerals Relief Commission from 1919 to 1921. John F. Shafroth died in 1922 and was interred in Fairmount Cemetery in Denver. His personal and official papers are archived at several locations including the Colorado State Archives (gubernatorial papers), the Colorado Historical Society Library, and the Denver Public Library's Western History and Genealogy Department. References ^ Shafroth, Frank Hagerman (2004-07). "John Franklin Shafroth". The Colorado Lawyer 33 (7): 15. Retrieved 2010-10-29.  ^ Leonard, Stephen J.; Noel, Thomas J.; Walker, Donald L., Jr. (2003). Honest John Shafroth: A Colorado Reformer. University Press of Colorado. ISBN 978-0942576078.  External links Governor John F. Shafroth Collection at the Colorado State Archives John F. Shafroth at the Biographical Directory of the United States Congress John F. Shafroth at Find a Grave United States House of Representatives Preceded by Lafayette Pence Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Colorado's 1st congressional district 1895-1904 Succeeded by Robert W. Bonynge Political offices Preceded by Henry Augustus Buchtel Governor of Colorado 1909–1912 Succeeded by Elias Milton Ammons United States Senate Preceded by Simon Guggenheim United States Senator (Class 2) from Colorado 1913–1919 Served alongside: Charles S. Thomas Succeeded by Lawrence C. Phipps v · d · eGovernors of Colorado Territorial (1861–1876) Gilpin · Evans · Cummings · Hunt · McCook · Elbert · McCook · Routt State (since 1876) Routt · Pitkin · Grant · Eaton · A. Adams · Cooper · Routt · Waite · McIntire · A. Adams · Thomas · Orman · Peabody · A. Adams · McDonald · Buchtel · Shafroth · E. Ammons · Carlson · Gunter · Shoup · Sweet · Morley · W. Adams · E. Johnson · Talbot · T. Ammons · Carr · Vivian · Knous · W. Johnson · Thornton · E. Johnson · McNichols · Love · Vanderhoof · Lamm · Romer · Owens · Ritter  · Hickenlooper v · d · eUnited States Senators from Colorado Class 2 Teller • Chilcott • Tabor • Bowen • Wolcott • Patterson • Guggenheim • Shafroth • Phipps • Costigan • Johnson • Allott • Haskell • Armstrong • Brown • Allard • Udall Class 3 Chaffee • Hill • Teller • Hughes • Thomas • Nicholson • Adams • Means • Waterman • Walker • Schuyler • Adams • Millikin • Carroll • Dominick • Hart • Wirth • Campbell • Salazar • Bennet Persondata Name Shafroth, John F. Alternative names Short description Date of birth June 9, 1854 Place of birth Fayette, Missouri Date of death February 20, 1922 Place of death Denver, Colorado