Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

This article does not cite any references or sources. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (December 2009) Fiji This article is part of the series: Politics and government of Fiji Government Executive President (List) Epeli Nailatikau Vice-President Vacant Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama Cabinet Attorney-General Leader of the Opposition Legislative Parliament Senate House of Representatives Speaker Vacant Local government Municipal elections 2002 2005 Former/informal institutions Monarchy of Fiji Governor Governor-General Chief Minister Executive Council Legislative Council Constitution Preamble 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Great Council of Chiefs Chairman, G.C.C. Ratu Epeli Nailatikau Political parties Electoral system Voting Constituencies Open Communal National Elections Parliamentary (2006, 2009) Presidential (2006) Foreign relations Diplomatic missions Other countries · Atlas Politics portal view • talk • edit The general election of April 1987 was Fiji's fifth since the country had gained its independence from the United Kingdom seventeen years earlier. It was historic in that it marked the first electoral transition of power in Fijian history. The Alliance Party of the longtime Prime Minister, Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, was defeated by a multiracial coalition, consisting of the Fiji Labour Party (contesting the election for the first time), the Indo-Fijian-dominated National Federation Party, and two smaller parties, the Western United Front and the Fiji Nationalist Party. In the House of Representatives, the coalition won a total of 28 seats to the Alliance's 24, and Dr Timoci Bavadra, the leader of the coalition, became Prime Minister. Bavadra's 28 member Parliamentary caucus included only 7 ethnic Fijians, all of them elected with predominantly Indo-Fijian support from "national" as opposed to "communal" electorates. (Fiji then had a complex voting system, allocating ethnic Fijians and Indo-Fijians 22 seats each, with a further 8 reserved for Europeans, Chinese, and other minorities. 12 of the representatives for both indigenous Fijians and Indo-Fijians group represented "communal" constituencies, elected from closed electoral rolls, while the other 10 represented "national" constituencies, elected by universal suffrage; the 8 minority seats comprised 3 communal and 5 national constituencies). Only six ethnic Fijians, including Dr Bavadra, were appointed to the new cabinet, as opposed to seven Into-Fijians and minority representative. Effective Indo-Fijian domination of the government caused widespread resentment among the ethnic Fijian community, and after less than a month in office, the new government was deposed in on May 14 1987 in a coup d'état led by Lieutenant-Colonel Sitiveni Rabuka. v • d • e Elections in Fiji General elections 1963 · 1966 · 1972 · 1977 (Mar) · 1977 (Sep) · 1982 · 1987 · 1992 · 1994 · 1999 · 2001 · 2006 · 2014