Your IP: United States Near: Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

Gert-Jan Theunisse Personal information Full name Gert-Jan Theunisse Date of birth 14 January 1963 (1963-01-14) (age 48) Place of birth  Netherlands Team information Current team Retired Discipline Road Role Rider Professional team(s) 1984–1986 1987–1989 1990 1991–1992 1993–1994 1995 Panasonic PDM-Concorde Panasonic-Sportlife TVM Sanyo TVM-Bison Kit Collstrop-Lystex Major wins Clásica de San Sebastián (1989) King of the Mountains, Tour de France (1989) Tour de France, 1 stage Infobox last updated on 7 November 2007 Gert-Jan Theunisse (born 14 January 1963 in Oss) is a Dutch former road bicycle racer. In the 1989 Tour de France, he won the King of the Mountains competition. Contents 1 Biography 2 Palmarès 3 See also 4 References 5 External links Biography Theunisse turned professional in 1984 with the Panasonic cycling team. That year he came third in the Ronde van Nederland and had places of honour in races such as the GP Fourmies and the GP d'Isbergues in 1986. However it was not until 1988 that he achieved great success. In the 1988 Tour de France he challenged his former teammate, Pedro Delgado. However he tested positive for testosterone and received a 10-minute penalty which moved him from fourth to 11th overall.[1] Theunisse returned the following year and won the polka dot jersey and the stage up Alpe d'Huez in the1989 Tour de France . In 1990 he also tested positive in the Flèche Wallonne[2] and Bicicleta Vasca.[3] He abandoned the second stage of the 1995 Tirreno–Adriatico and stopped his career after receiving medical advice for heart trouble.[4] He began advising Mario Gutte and then mountain biker Bart Brentjens from late 1995. The following year he drew up a training scheme for Brentjens for the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. Brentjens won the Dutch national championship, the world championship, the World Cup, the Tour de France VTT and then gold at the Olympic Games. Brentjens signed with the Specialized Mountain Bike team at the end of 1996 and stipulated in the contract that Theunisse would be team manager. During this time, Theunisse rode occasional regional mountain bike races. On 8 September 1997 he was hit by a car while training with the team. He was diagnosed as having a paraplegia, the result of a spinal cord injury when the car hit him.[5] Theunisse was unable to walk but recovered over the six months and returned to coaching the Specialized team. In January 1999, he won a mountain bike race in the United Kingdom but could not walk for three days afterwards.[5] In June 1999 he had a heart attack. In 2000 he admitted using illegal substances but denied taking testosterone.[6] Theunisse continued working with Specialized until the sponsor left the sport at the end of 2001. Theunisse then moved to Majorca, where he began riding his mountain bike 150 km a day . He won the European over-30 championship in 2002.[7] He competed from 2003 to 2005 despite consistent pain due to spinal damage, difficulty walking straight as well as involuntary muscle or spastic attacks. [8] Theunisse had twelve wins as a active Mountain bike cyclist. Theunisse was sponsored by PowerPlate-Giant and concentrated on the mountain bike marathons of the World and European championships.[9] Theunisse rode his final mountain bike race in October 2005 at a race at Scheveningen, in the Netherlands[10] and discussed plans to build a sports centre for disabled competitors. Theunisse is said to be 13 per cent handicapped and aims to compete in the Paralympics.[10][11] Palmarès 1988 –PDM-Concorde 1st, Clásica de San Sebastián 1989 –PDM-Concorde 4th, Overall, Tour de France King of the Mountains 1st, Stage 17 (Briançon - Alpe d'Huez) 1st, Stage 4, Tour de Trump 1st, Overall, Vuelta a Asturias 1st, Stage 6 1991 –TVM-Sanyo 1st, Vuelta a los Valles Mineros 1st, Overall, Tour de Luxembourg 1st, Stage 1 1992 –TVM-Bison 1st, Stage 3, Tour de Luxembourg See also List of doping cases in cycling References ^ "Drugs and the Tour de France".  ^ Theunisse en sursis, Le Soir, 30 May 1990 ^ Theunisse weer positief, Nieuwsblad van het Noorden, 30 June 1990 ^ "Stepped down for good". Tribute to Theunisse. Archived from the original on 2009-10-24. Retrieved 2008-01-11.  ^ a b "No cure, if it's in the blood". Tribute to Theunisse. Archived from the original on 2009-10-24. Retrieved 2008-01-11.  ^ Theunisse - confesses ^ "Ik wil voor mensen een voorbeeld zijn. Je moet je nooit laten afschrijven". Tribute to Theunisse. Archived from the original on 2009-10-25. Retrieved 2008-01-11.  ^ "Liever sterven in het harnas". Retrieved 2008-01-11. [dead link] ^ "Theunisse continues on the dirt". Retrieved 2008-01-11.  ^ a b "Mountainbiken / Lijf Theunisse schreeuwt om rust". Trouw. Retrieved 2008-01-11.  ^ "Theunisse creates training centre for disabled". Retrieved 2008-01-11.  External links Official website Palmarès by (French) Palmarès by (Italian) Gert-Jan Theunisse profile at Cycling Archives v · d · e Tour de France mountains classification winners 1933 Vicente Trueba • 1934 René Vietto • 1935 Félicien Vervaecke • 1936 Julián Berrendero • 1937 Félicien Vervaecke • 1938 Gino Bartali • 1939 Sylvère Maes • 1947 Pierre Brambilla • 1948 Gino Bartali • 1949 Fausto Coppi • 1950 Louison Bobet • 1951 Raphaël Géminiani • 1952 Fausto Coppi • 1953 Jesús Loroño • 1954 Federico Bahamontes • 1955–1956 Charly Gaul • 1957 Gastone Nencini • 1958–1959 Federico Bahamontes • 1960–1961 Imerio Massignan • 1962–1964 Federico Bahamontes • 1965–1967 Julio Jiménez • 1968 Aurelio González Puente • 1969–1970 Eddy Merckx • 1971–1972 Lucien Van Impe • 1973 Pedro Torres • 1974 Domingo Perurena • 1975 Lucien Van Impe • 1976 Giancarlo Bellini • 1977 Lucien Van Impe • 1978 Mariano Martínez • 1979 Giovanni Battaglin • 1980 Raymond Martin • 1981 Lucien Van Impe • 1982 Bernard Vallet • 1983 Lucien Van Impe • 1984 Robert Millar • 1985 Luis Herrera • 1986 Bernard Hinault • 1987 Luis Herrera • 1988 Steven Rooks • 1989 Gert-Jan Theunisse • 1990 Thierry Claveyrolat • 1991–1992 Claudio Chiappucci • 1993 Tony Rominger • 1994–1997 Richard Virenque • 1998 Christophe Rinero • 1999 Richard Virenque • 2000 Santiago Botero • 2001–2002 Laurent Jalabert • 2003–2004 Richard Virenque • 2005–2006 Michael Rasmussen • 2007 Mauricio Soler • 2008 Bernhard Kohl  • 2009 Franco Pellizotti  • 2010 Anthony Charteau Persondata Name Theunisse, Gert-Jan Alternative names Short description Road bicycle racer Date of birth 1963-01-14 Place of birth Oss, Netherlands Date of death Place of death