Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

This article needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding reliable references. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. (May 2007) The University of Sydney Students' Representative Council (SRC) is the representative body for undergraduate students at the University of Sydney. Contents 1 Structure 2 History 2.1 Past SRC Presidents 3 Functions 4 Politics 5 See also 6 References 7 External links // Structure The SRC is governed by the Council, which consists of 33 Representatives elected annually by undergraduate students. The Council meets once a month. It is the supreme decision-making body in the SRC. The Executive of the SRC is elected annually by the Council, and consists of the President, Vice-President, General Secretary, and four general members, elected proportionally out of Council. Meeting weekly, the Executive makes most significant decisions regarding the SRC. The day-to-day operation of the SRC is generally conducted by paid staff and paid office-bearers, being the President (directly elected by students), the Education Officer(s), and Women's Officer(s). Annual elections are held in September each year, to elect the Council, the President, 7 NUS delegates, and the editors of Honi Soit, the student newspaper. Unlike most student organisations, other office-bearers are elected by the Council, and not directly by students. All undergraduate students have a right to vote in annual elections. History The SRC was founded in the late 1920s, and is one of the oldest student organisations in Australia. The SRC was prominent in student campaigns against the war in Vietnam and numerous other political issues. The SRC was also deeply involved in the campaign to create the separate Political Economy department within the School of Economics in the late 1970s. Past SRC Presidents Name Year Grouping J.M. Gosper 1930 Frank Wood Bayldon 1931 V.J. Flynn 1932 C.R. Laverty 1933 J. Bowie-Wilson 1934 D.R. Lewis 1935 G.P. Campbell 1936 Kevin Ellis 1937-38 P.J. Kenny 1938 W. Granger 1939 J.H.E. Mackay 1940 J.S. Collings 1941-42 P.P. Manzie 1942 Moya McDade 1943 Keith Dan 1944 Marnie Watt 1945 John Nash 1946 John Redrup 1947 Ted McWhinney 1948 Alan Beattie 1949 Jim Brassil 1950 Peter J. Curtis 1951 Phillip Jeffrey 1952 Gregory Bartels 1953 Philip Berthon-Jones 1954 Greg Dunne 1955 Tony Reading 1956 Jim Carlton 1957 Malcolm Brown 1958 Brian L. Hennessy 1958 M.G.I. Davey 1959 Robert J. Wallace 1960 Peter Wilenski 1961 John Boyd 1962 Michael Kirby 1963, 1964 Bob McDonald 1964 Michael A. Weber 1965 J. Richard Walsh 1966 Geoffrey Robertson 1967 Alan Cameron 1968 Jim Spigelman 1969 Percy Allan 1970 Barry Robinson 1971 Chris Beale 1972 Chris Sidoti 1973 Brett Mattes 1974 John McGrath 1975 David Patch 1976 Peter Byrnes 1977[1] Barbara Ramjan 1977-1978 Tony Abbott 1979 Democratic Club Paul Brereton 1980-81 Centre Unity Paul Rickard 1982 John Martin 1983 Belinda Neal 1984 Centre Unity Mark Heyward 1985 Liberal Helen Spowart 1986 Labor Left Joe Hockey 1987 Liberal Liz Gardiner 1988 Left Alliance Rod McDonald 1989 Left Alliance Vanessa Chan 1990 Left Alliance Caitlin Vaughan 1991 Left Alliance Amanda Lees 1992 Left Alliance Anna Davis 1993 Left Alliance Heidi Norman 1994 Left Alliance Nadya Haddad 1995 Left Alliance Catherine Burnheim 1996 Left Alliance Katrina Curry 1997 Left Alliance Adair Durie 1998[2] Students First (Liberal) Luke Whitington 1998-1999[3] Labor Left Natasha Verco 2000 National Broad Left / Activist Left Moksha Watts 2001 Labor Left Daniel Kyriacou 2002 Labor Left Jo Haylen 2003 Labor Left Felix Eldridge 2004 Labor Left Rose Jackson 2005 Labor Left Nick Wood 2006 Labor Left Angus McFarland 2007 Labor Left Kate Laing 2008 Labor Left Noah White 2009 Labor Left Elly Howse 2010 Labor Left Dee Walmsley 2011 Labor Left ^ Peter Byrnes resigned midway through his term, and was replaced by Barbara Ramjan. Ramjan subsequently won election to the presidency in her own right. ^ Adair Durie was removed from office following the 1997 election. ^ Luke Whitington was elected in the 1998 by-election following the removal of Adair Durie, and was elected again at the 1998 general election to serve in 1999. Former Presidents of the SRC have gone on to many notable achievements. Former Cabinet ministers Tony Abbott and Joe Hockey were President in 1979 and 1987 respectively. Jim Spigelman, Chief Justice of New South Wales and Michael Kirby, Justice of the High Court of Australia, were also President. Other prominent personalities formerly involved in the SRC include Members of Parliament Anthony Albanese, Malcolm Turnbull, and controversial Member for Robertson Belinda Neal. Presidents of the SRC have regularly gone on to become President of the National Union of Students, with the 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, and 2007 Presidents being immediately elected to the peak office in NUS. The last four and current Undergraduate fellows of the University of Sydney Senate, Moksha Watts, Jo Haylen, Rose Jackson and Angus McFarland and Kate Laing were all former Presidents of the SRC. Functions The SRC focuses its work on representation of students, rather than the provision of services. This sets it apart from the University of Sydney Union, which provides services such as Clubs and Societies and food services, and the Manning, Holme and Wentworth buildings. The SRC is also highly involved in political campaigns and has been central to the campaign against Voluntary Student Unionism and freedom of speech. It has collectives in the areas of Education, Women's, Queer, Environment, Global Solidarity and Anti-Racism. The SRC also publishes Honi Soit, Australia's only remaining weekly student newspaper, as well as Growing Strong, the Women's handbook; and the Orientation Handbook. The SRC runs a second-hand bookshop, as well as providing free advice on legal issues, Centrelink and conflicts between students and university administration. Politics The SRC has a long history of being at the centre of student politics and student activism in Australia. Most political groupings in Australian student politics have a presence at Sydney University, such as Labor Left, Grassroots Left, Labor Right, Socialist Alternative and Liberals. From 2000 to 2010, the SRC was controlled by the National Organisation of Labor Students, the student Labor Left faction. Prior to that, from the late 1980s until 1997, the SRC was controlled by Left Alliance, a former NUS faction made up of students to the left of Labor. In 2010, non-Labor aligned students won a majority of positions on the SRC, though Labor Left retained the Presidency. See also University of Sydney Union Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association References External links SRC Website v • d • e Student Organisations in Australia Campus Unions in Australia Adelaide  · Australian National  · Curtin  · Deakin  · Macquarie  · Melbourne  · Murdoch  · New South Wales  · RMIT  · Swinburne  · Sydney  · UTS  · Victoria  · Western Australia  · Wollongong Tasmania Hobart Student councils in Australia Adelaide  · Australian National  · New England  · Newcastle  · New South Wales · QUT  · RMIT  · South Australia · Sydney University Undergraduates  · Sydney University Postgraduate  · UTS  · Wollongong Monash Berwick · Caulfield · Clayton · Gippsland National student organisations in Australia Australian Liberal Students Federation  · Australasian Union of Jewish Students  · Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations  · National Labor Students  · National Union of Students  · Socialist Alternative  · Student Unity See also Voluntary student unionism