Your IP: United States Near: United States

Lookup IP Information

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next

Below is the list of all allocated IP address in - network range, sorted by latency.

For other uses, see Thomas Higgins. Thomas Higgins (died 26 January 1906) was an Irish nationalist politician and auctioneer, who as member of the Irish Parliamentary Party was posthumously declared elected Member of Parliament of the House of Commons of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland in 1906. Higgins, originally from Monivea, who was chairman of Tuam Board of Guardians and a member of Galway County Council, was selected as the Irish Parliamentary Party candidate by the United Irish League (UIL) convention on January 5, 1906 to contest the 1906 general election. He had been President of the constituency branch of the UIL since 1900. Taken ill on the night of the election (January 25, 1906), he died as the result of a heart attack in Guy's Hotel, Tuam, at 1.30am the following morning (26 January 1906). As was widely expected, Higgins topped the poll at the election count, which was held later on the day of his death, beating the incumbent MP, John Philip Nolan, who had stood as an Independent Nationalist. Higgins, who received 2,685 votes (Nolan took 1,064), was posthumously declared elected by the county sheriff, the returning officer.[1][2] The remarkable circumstances surrounding the election lead the Irish Independent to comment that "candidates have died before the actual election, but we doubt if ever such a case as the present has occurred before, where a candidate has died after the poll has been taken and before the result has been declared".[3] This circumstance occurred again to Noel Skelton in 1935, and to Sir Edward Taswell Campbell and Leslie Pym in 1945; however, all of them were candidates for re-election. Thomas Higgins is the only MP to be newly elected posthumously. See also List of United Kingdom MPs with the shortest service References ^ "Deceased Candidate Elected", Irish Independent, 27 January 1906, p. 4. ^ Irish Times, 27 January 1906, p. 6 ^ "Irish Election Sensation", Irish Independent, 26 January 1906. External links Entry on Rayment's Commons page Parliament of the United Kingdom Preceded by John Philip Nolan MP for North Galway 26 January 1906 posthumously Succeeded by Richard Hazleton